Groups for the European Championship were drawn in Tampere


The groups for the 2020 IWAS Powerchair Hockey European Championship were drawn on 9th of November 2019 in Tampere, Finland during the Assistive Technology event. The draw was conducted by the Local Organizing Committee and supervised by the IPCH representatives Anna Rossi and Rasmus Dissing Nielsen.

According to the IPCH rules the reigning European Champion Netherlands was positioned to Group A and the runner-up of the previous European Championship Italy was positioned to Group B. The other six teams were drawn to the pools so that Group A consists of Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark and Switzerland and Group B consists of Italy, Spain, Germany and Finland.

– Personally I like our group a lot. Italy is the World Champion from 2018 and they have a really good team but they have gone through some changes with new coach and some new players. Germany is always a tough opponent and Spain has some skillful players in their team as well. It will be fun to play against these three countries, said Finnish goaltender Atso Ahonen after the draw.

The 2020 IWAS Powerchair Hockey European Championship will be played in the Pajulahti Olympic & Paralympic Training Center, Lahti, Finland on 1st to 8th of June.

Groups for the European Championship

Group A

  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Switzerland

Group B

  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Germany
  • Finland